What is Justice?

I’ve been contemplating this recently.  As a Christian, should I even demand justice for my own abuse?  What about for others being abused?  It seems right somehow for me to want their justice, and yet somehow wrong to hope for my own.  In fact, isn’t sort of downright unforgiving to wish for justice against my traffickers and abusers? In wishing for their “justice” what am I really wishing for anyways?  What would that even look like?  And then there’s a double standard if I can fight and hope for justice for the little girls in Thailand who are being trafficked, but not my own.  Is it because I have been freed and found healing in Christ that I feel I no longer have the “right” to hope that my abusers come to justice?  There’s a mess of confusion that has swirled around this issue in my mind.  I had settled on forgiveness and letting God sort the rest out, and I really was good with that – until recently when God decided to bring this subject back to my attention.

Here’s the thing.  Justice is not a noun.  And it’s not a verb.  Justice is a MAN. Jesus Christ suffered on the Cross for every single, horrible, unjust act ever committed.  And He WILL be returning to the earth as a righteous judge to establish His kingdom in justice and righteousness (Isa. 9:7).  Justice, the Man, demands that every single sin be paid for.  He was willing to pay for them all.  He died to do just that.  As my righteous judge, I can be assured that He will see to it that the horrible suffering I endured is atoned for.  Those who perpetrated those sufferings against me have a choice.  Either they can repent and allow Christ to pay the penalty to restore justice to me, or they will have to pay themselves.

Please don’t get me wrong.  I am NOT sitting here reveling in the thought that they will somehow pay.  No.  In fact, just the opposite.  I am overwhelmed at how intent Christ is on bringing justice to the earth and making every wrong right to the point of desperate hope that my perpetrators will humble themselves and repent before God!

Here’s the picture.  This is what God said about Jesus as the ultimate judge and bringer of justice:

Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him and He will bring justice to the nations.  He will not shout or cry out, or raise His voice in the streets.  A bruised reed he will not break, and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out.  In faithfulness He will bring forth justice; He will not falter or be discouraged till he establishes justice on the earth.  In His law the islands will put their hope.  Isaiah 42:1-4

We have a righteous judge who is coming to bring justice to the earth.  His mind is made up.  He is not worried about it.  The matter is already settled.  He will not falter until he establishes justice on the earth.  He is the One who will wipe away every tear and make all things right.

I no longer feel the need to push aside those thoughts and questions in my mind about what happened to me – to feel guilty about this longing in my heart to see justice for what happened.  And I am slowly emerging from this place with even more passion to pray for my abusers – that they will choose to cast their sin on Christ who willingly paid to bring me to wholeness so that they will not face that day where they will be required to pay instead.  Amen.

About stonescry

A survivor of sex trafficking, being healed by the grace of God.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is Justice?

  1. Sadie says:

    Wow. That is so extreme. To hear of someone like you who went through and are still struggling so horribly with past traumatic experiences is just mind blowing. I though I’d had it hard before. I thought I was struggling to forgive a few unkind acquaintances like I knew I should. But to forgive such people as exploit the minds and bodies of young boys and girls like you have described, to pray for them to accept Christ–that is the ultimate peak of forgiveness. Forgiveness such as many people have never heard of before. Forgiveness like Christ’s forgiveness–like God’s forgiveness.
    I am only a teenager. I’m a girl who grew up in a Christian family, seemingly so far away from all these terrible, evil things; so sheltered a life I had. And only just recently has God been showing me what wickedness there is in the world. And I ask myself, how am I supposed to still feel glad, or to dare to dream the dreams that once gave me so much pleasure? It all seems so insignificant. So–naive.
    I am naive. I know I am. There is much to learn, which I do not know whether it is a good thing to know about or not. But how am I supposed to help–to pray–if I do not understand, if I am still so naive that part of me wants to write off the whole thought of sex trafficking, to ignore it, to forget it. How am I supposed to ever help anyone with that attitude? But when do I learn how to deal with the knowledge of the evil and wickedness that is part of our world and still have the happy innocence my parents cherish so much? To still feel that life can be so much in so little, when there are so many others going through the kind of things you describe on your blog here. So I have one big question as I read this: How? How do I help? How do I accept it? How am I supposed to live with the knowledge that such things happen out there? How?
    I do not mean to ask you all these questions. Maybe some day God will give me the answer. But for now, know I will pray. I will cry, and I will ache, because I already am doing both. Maybe someday I will feel strong enough to plunge my elbows deep into the world of hurt and trauma that survivors live in constantly. Until then, I will do what I can. I will ask others to pray, and will petition God…. I will continue to read, as well, and hope and pray and petition God that you may know peace someday, peace and rest and hope and everything else He can ever give you. God bless you, stonescry. I am so sorry that things like this happen to people. I hope, someday, I pray, someday, that these things will come to an end.

  2. stonescry says:

    Hi Sadie, as a parent I understand your questions, because we parents have those same questions ourselves – how do we dismantle the innocence of our own children in order to 1.) Keep them safe, and 2.) Teach them to reach a truly desperate world with His love. And WHEN do we do it? It is heart-breaking to watch. Please do share your questions with your parents and let them guide you in how to navigate through this material. I can see clearly that you have a passion to be used by Him to be His hands and feet to the suffering ones in this world. You are absolutely wise to pour your heart out in the place of prayer. Understand that when you PRAY you ARE DOING the work. Prayer is the hardest, least fulfilling, loneliest place in this fight, but it is hands down, THE MOST IMPORTANT. If you will give yourself to prayer on behalf of those He burdens your heart with, you will see Him do incredible things through you that you could never have done without the prayer. Thank you, dear one, for your petitions on my behalf – they are a gift of immeasurable worth to me. Bless you.

Leave a Reply

