A Word to Men

Well, in my last post, I wondered aloud at how many decent men there really are in the world.  I know some, for sure.  But I am struggling with this right now.  When I go to an anti-trafficking event, I sometimes wonder if I am the only one there that is twisted enough to think that half the men there are possibly traffickers themselves, or caught up in some kind of  sexual addiction, who see their involvement in this fight as the way out of the addiction somehow.

Then I had one reader comment on how easy it is for her to be suspicious of any man involved in this, even though she has not been trafficked.  She wisely pointed out that it is good for all of us to be prayerfully discerning, which I totally agree with.  And when I’m not in “trauma mode,” I think I’m pretty good at that.

This video epitomizes the heart of where any man in this movement needs to be.  If you’re a dude, please pay close attention to the details in this video.  Even if you are not a trafficker or caught in some kind of sexual addiction where you are obviously using women, I would ask you to dig a little deeper and see if there is any part of your mindset where you are ok with using a woman – even your wife – to gratify your flesh.

I’m gonna go out on a limb here and say that most “great” men still haven’t gotten past the insidious undercurrent of thinking that is rampant in our society where it is ok on any level to objectify a woman in any way.  If you don’t fight to absolutely crucify all of the subtle ways that you have adopted just by living in this world, then you will always be a part of the problem and not the solution.  I’m talking about a radical shift in the hearts of men who *think* that they are not to blame.  If we could get about a billion men on earth grasp what this guy has gotten a hold of, then I think we’d be golden. 🙂

I wish I could figure out how to get Vimeo to embed on WordPress, but that’s not going to happen today.  So click the link and take a few minutes to watch this – it’s totally worth it.

A Man’s Promise

About stonescry

A survivor of sex trafficking, being healed by the grace of God.
Gallery | This entry was posted in For Those Who Help, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

