Why Humanism Will Not Heal

I was asked the following question in a comment on the Red X post.  It was such a good question, I thought it would be appropriate to answer it here as a separate post.

The question was this:

“As a non-believer, I want to ask: isn’t there a place in the anti-trafficking movement for me? Or do my words and deeds mean nothing, because they are not backed by prayer? As a humanist, I believe this life is all we’ve got – and it therefore must be treated as sacred – and the victims and the vulnerable must be sheltered and protected. I work and sacrifice and give to worthy causes. But I don’t believe in any god, and I don’t pray. Just another perspective to consider.”

I have been asked some really obnoxious questions, many of which I do not feel the least bit obliged to publish or answer.   Yours is not one of them.  I actually welcome this question.

First let me say:

Do you have a place in  this movement? Yes.  Does money help?  Of course.  Does telling others help? Well, if they will do something – like donate money or tell someone else who will donate money or learn how to spot a trafficking situation and report it – then yes.

Awareness is necessary.  I did not say that it was not necessary; simply that it does nothing to heal those who have survived, and we are many.  Those of us, hidden in corners for years, are not being helped by the awareness any more than it would help a homeless man for you to stand next to him on the street and scream to the world that he is homeless.

And all those dollars that are going to rescue are actually – at this point in time – yielding very little in terms of actual, true restoration of lives.  You will find this to be true if you speak directly with anyone trying to run an organization that restores trafficking victims.

And to be clear – having a roof over your head, food to eat, and a job skills does NOT heal a heart wrecked by inconceivable evil….just as more awareness campaigns do not heal broken hearts.

Do you have what it takes to set me free?  Can you heal my broken body?  Can you bring peace to the mental torment and memories?  Can you stop me from having the nightmares?  Can you personally protect me from my traffickers finding me and coming after me?

Because if you can only physically free someone, but you do not have what it takes to bring them out of the mental and spiritual and even physical torment, then what?

The problem with humanism is that humans do not have the power to free other humans from spiritual bondage.  

It was man who did this to me, but these men were driven by forces of evil.  One good thing about the awareness explosion is that people everywhere are waking up to the realization of how complete and total evil has hijacked the hearts of men so badly, that they are willing to rent out little girls and boys as young as infants for violent sex acts until the child dies.

I’m not sure how, as a humanist, you explain how other humans can disrespect life so badly that they will make films of adults sexually torturing children unto death.  If you don’t believe in God, do you believe in evil?  Because no one can possibly point to these acts and not see them as inhumane, demonically driven evil.

And, as a simple human, even one with a big heart and great respect for human life, you do not have what it takes to set me free from the ongoing torment that marks a life with such evil.

It takes a power greater than what any human has to offer to actually free survivors from the evil aftermath of their captivity.

For many years, I looked to man – to kind, benevolent, well-meaning, good-hearted people to help free me from the HELL I still lived in for years after escaping.  And NONE of them had anything to offer other than human sympathy and friendship at best.  While good, these things were NEVER going to have the power to break the chains still wrapped around my heart, mind and body.

It takes a lot more.  It takes a supreme Being powerful enough to break the back of the evil I have experienced.

I do not know how you came to hold your worldview, but I can tell you that I came to hold mine from experiencing the healing that only God could offer me.

I cannot overstate the firm belief I have in prayer to set people free.  Prayer to the God who sits enthroned on high.  He is the ONLY one with the power to free me from these unseen chains.  And it is our humble acknowledgment, through prayer, of His supreme, yet loving power that moves His heart to act.

And this is not just simply my opinion; it is my experience.  

I don’t pray to an imaginary or made up god.  I pray to God Almighty, the maker of heaven and earth, and He answers.  I wish you could truly understand the depth of torment I have experienced. Then you would know how miraculous it is that I am not only alive, but walking a path to complete and total restoration!

I invite you to read more of my story here.  My words are honest and I am telling you the truth that apart from God there would never have been true freedom for me.

Could I survive my experience without Him?  Maybe.  Could I thrive, and experience deep, lasting peace, joy and freedom without His divine love and healing?

No way.

But thank you for asking.

For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil. (1 John 3:8b)

About stonescry

A survivor of sex trafficking, being healed by the grace of God.
Gallery | This entry was posted in For Those Who Help. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Why Humanism Will Not Heal

  1. jwyaun says:

    Thank you, sister, for your powerful words, for courageously sharing your heart and your story. I can feel your strength in these words and I thank God for you. I pray for your continued healing, and I pray for you things I cannot even find the words to say, but the Holy Spirit living inside you and me, He knows. He knows.

  2. Becky Daye says:

    Thank you as always for your honest and God honoring perspective. I am so thankful for you and your words!! Your perspective is so necessary!

  3. Carissa says:

    This is so powerful. Or, rather, God is so powerful, and your words are a beautiful testimony to that truth. Thank you for answering this question so clearly… this post encourages my own faith. I will keep praying, keep trusting, keep hoping.

    • stonescry says:

      Thank you, Carissa. And yes, He is so powerful, and the only reason I’m still here. Thank you for your words this weekend on your blog that reminded me to keep looking up. It was a powerful word picture and one I really needed. Bless you!

      • Carissa says:

        You’re welcome, on both counts. 🙂 I am amazed at just how accurate that little picture is… There are even more analogies than the ones I wrote there. Like that the water/troubles are meant to wash away our dirt/sin… and that even though it’s still hard, looking to Him makes it so that the really nasty part of troubles (mainly the part where we can’t see or don’t trust God anymore.) doesn’t come into our eyes and blind us to the good He is working.

  4. Bridgette says:

    I want to thank you for this post. Having learned about human trafficking a few years ago, I keep teaching my church about human trafficking (sometimes I think they might get annoyed with me). This post shows why the Church needs to be involved with human trafficking – it’s only through the Trinity that healing can come. The spiritual element is needed if we are to ever combat the evil in the world.

    • stonescry says:

      Bridgette, yes – exactly! If the church does not step up and figure out how to offer true hope and healing to victims then what hope is there? I am thankful for your voice and persistence within your church and welcome you to read more here or email me privately with any questions you may have about effectively ministering the hope and healing of Christ to trafficking survivors. stonescry1@gmail.com

  5. tish says:

    such wonderful words!!! our group is having a prayer gathering this monday, and we will be praying for you! i am still plugging away at nehemiah and was thinking of the “awareness” presentations that we give in churches as we do find many who are still not aware of this evil (or don’t know the truth)…and nehemiah 8:8 stood out to me. we do not need to use tactics of sensationalism with staggering statistics and stories of horror, we need to simply share the Word of God and how we are to respond to this issue in light of His Word. we have new people wanting to volunteer coming to our meeting on monday and, if ok with you, i will share your post on prayer and let them know that the first place to start is commitment to prayer. thank you!

  6. Dear friend, I so appreciate you speaking out about this, as you are spot on and these things really needed to be said! Praise God for His grace, for there is no genuine healing outside of it! Yes, believers and nonbelievers alike can provide physical provisions — money, food, shelter, etc. to the trafficking victim, but MUCH more than that is needed for absolute restoration.

    • stonescry says:

      Hello my dear friend! I have missed your voice here so much! You are so right and it is so important to not overlook the real physical and practical support for survivors. Even simple things like babysitting, grocery shopping, lawn mowing….things that non-survivors don’t even realize are so very overwhelming to us at times! Still praying for that “real life” community and support for us both! ❤

  7. Pingback: Things to Read | natashametzler.com

  8. txcollies says:

    Hello, I have just discovered your blog through a link to this post. This was such a powerful post. I feel guilty as I really don’t know much about sex trafficking and have never heard anyone mention it in church. Aside from prayer, how else can one help?

    • stonescry says:

      Hi. Thanks for your comment. Great question. It is easy to educate yourself on this issue as it has finally come to the attention of mainstream society in a HUGE way in the past two years. Feel free to read here as much as you like. I am a survivor with only my own story and journey to share, and am still very much in the midst of healing from an entire childhood of being trafficked. I suggest you google anti-trafficking ministries in your city. I believe you will be amazed at how much you find. I pray you find clear direction in how you can be a part of the anti-trafficking activities in your area! Perhaps after educating yourself, God may use you to bring attention to this topic within your church. And besides prayer, I will always tell you to pray more! Prayer saved my life and if you read here for any length of time, you will find me always pointing you back to prayer. There really is no human way to break the back of this evil and restore the lives torn apart by it! Bless you!

  9. annalouise1 says:

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    “The problem with humanism is that humans do not have the power to free other humans from spiritual bondage”

  10. Dianne says:

    Dear Precious Sister,

    I am so grateful for you, your raw honesty and your desire to share your pain in order to bring glory to God our Healer and help others. Today a friend shared your “Red X’s and Why I am Tired of Awareness” post on facebook. After I read it I could not stop thinking about you and your story and the countless others who must share it. I struggled to join in the Red X campaign, not because I didn’t think it was worthy but because it felt so pointless. What was posting a Red X on my profile going to do to help anyone? So instead, I prayed and asked God to show me how I can ACTUALLY help. Then I was led to your blog. I have read several of your posts and as well as your story and my heart goes out to you. But also, I feel empowered by you. NOW I know what I can ACTUALLY DO to help: Pray. It sounds so simple but I totally missed it. Until you pointed it out. Thank you. I am accepting your challenge and I now wear a Red X to remind me to skip a meal, fast and pray for you and others like you. Every time I look at it I will stop and pray.

    Not only am I grateful for your challenge, I am also grateful for this followup post. I just want to quote it all over the place! In fact, I plan to begin to sharing your posts on my facebook page and in my blog on a regular basis. I hope that’s OK, but figure it is since your goal is to reach more with your message. Your beautiful, raw, healing message. But I have to tell you that these two lines have captured my heart and mind like no other blog post ever has:

    “And to be clear – having a roof over your head, food to eat, and a job skills does NOT heal a heart wrecked by inconceivable evil….just as more awareness campaigns do not heal broken hearts.”

    “I do not know how you came to hold your worldview, but I can tell you that I came to hold mine from experiencing the healing that only God could offer me.”

    There is so much evil and pain in this world. And so many people who refuse to see that only God can heal and overcome it. It breaks my heart to see so many trying to get through it without Him. Including my sister. For too long I’ve sat as an observer, afraid to say anything to anyone for fear of hurting their feelings or being criticized. Including my sister. But I also know she and I both experienced an abuse that humans cannot heal. Only through the Grace of Love of God have I healed (and also continue to heal). You have perfectly said everything my heart has wanted to cry out for years but been unable to. Thank you! When I see the Red X, I am also praying for my sister and the countless others who need healing but refuse to allow God in. Thank you for sharing. Thank you for empowering me with such an important way to help the healing process. God bless you. ❤

    • stonescry says:

      Oh Dianne, I am so sorry for your pain. I am so glad that you know Christ as healer. And I am so, so, so incredibly humbled, grateful and in awe of your words of encouragement and kindness and understanding to me here. They came at such a good time and were a precious, refreshing gift. God gets all the glory here! I’m so thankful that He even considers using me in any way in this broken state to bring anything helpful to this table. May God bless you richly as you pursue His heart and may He pour out understanding and wisdom and power upon you as you walk out your response to His call on your life. I see such a humble and precious heart in you. Thank you for taking the time to read, to really HEAR, and to reach out to encourage me here today! Bless you!

Leave a Reply

