The Secret to Restoration of Wrecked Hearts

I have written some, but published nothing.  There just aren’t words most days for where I am right now.  So I spend my days, quiet.  No doubt God is working.  But sometimes, it is just not the right time to speak.  And so I don’t.

But if there is one thing that has been like a lighthouse to me in this season of torrential storms that don’t stop, it has been the reaching of a quiet few who just don’t stop reaching when I have nothing to say.

Their steadfast prayers bring me peace in the middle of the night, and even when I don’t have words, I know they have not thrown up their hands and walked away.

A very few.

And their “staying” is a healing gift I don’t even have words for.

I’m tired.  Too tired to engage one more person who will just walk away when I don’t measure up to some idea they had about me.  Tired of people who reach, but don’t intend to stay – people who are just passing through.  Sometimes it has sent my heart right over the edge it was already on.

I won’t say more than that, but may I challenge you to read just one thing?  It’s exactly what my heart would like to say, but can’t really find the right words for.

I’ve heard it said you can’t have a safe house (for trafficking survivors) until you are a safe person.  This treasure was written by a truly safe person.  I haven’t met too many.  But she’s got it.  And I hope many will read her words and be changed.

Because there are some wounds that just can’t be healed without this kind of labor. 

And if there was one message I could shout from the rooftops to all of the anti-trafficking activists out there, it would be this: STOP. FOR. THE. ONE.  And she gets it.

So read it.  Here’s the link again, in case you missed it: The Catch and Release Ministry

About stonescry

A survivor of sex trafficking, being healed by the grace of God.
Gallery | This entry was posted in For Those Who Help and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Secret to Restoration of Wrecked Hearts

  1. Tish says:

    Please know I continue to pray for you!

  2. rllangdon says:

    Thank you for sharing, and for pointing the way. Faithfulness is God’s character, and we follow Him when we are also faithful. *hugs*

  3. Carissa says:

    That was a powerful blog post she wrote… something I am learning, slowly. Both my need of it and my responsibility in Christ to be that way for others.

    God has already used your blog to change me in many ways… even in the silence. I am thankful.

    I’m still praying for you…

  4. jwyaun says:

    Sister, my heart aches with you in your sorrow and in your healing. Hold on, hold on. A change is coming. And when all others fail, Christ is with you still. He will never leave us nor forsake us.

  5. Heather says:

    I’m sorry there aren’t more who are willing to stay, but praise God for the few who do. Praying that many will read the post you linked to and truly understand how to do ministry.

    All spiritual gifts must be practiced within the context of love (1 Cor 13). What does love do? It PROTECTS. It HOPES. It PERSEVERES. It NEVER FAILS. That doesn’t sound like what is so common today: the quick bandaging up of the wounded before racing off to the next cause. Ministry is many Christian circles has been reduced to short mission trips and making charitable financial contributions. Neither of those are wrong in and of themselves, but they fall short of how God commands us to use our gifts — to minister to and edify the CHURCH BODY.

Leave a Reply

